Fire away! New Mills business woman to walk over hot coals for charity

A kind-hearted business owner from New Mills, who is usually found caring for people’s feet, is set to walk bare foot over hot coals in the name of charity.

Caroline Murphy, qualified foot health practitioner and owner of The Hub on Albion Road in New Mills, is taking on a fire walk for the Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland Air Ambulance service.

The unique challenge on Friday 12th November will see Caroline walk over burning ashes that will have a temperature measurement of around 800 degrees Celsius.

As well as providing services including piercing, massage and waxing at The Hub which she’s owned for 10 years now, Caroline is trained to care for fungal nails, corn and callus removals, in-growing nails, and toe nail reconstruction.

Caroline, who is a member of the College of Foot Health Professionals and the British Association of Foot Health Professionals, said: ‘I am passionate about my job and foot heath care will be of upmost importance when I attempt the fire walk. As the name suggests, this is a bare foot walk over red-hot embers; no tricks, no special effects. Not only will I be completing an incredible life achievement, but also raising vital funds for a lifesaving service.

‘When I saw the fire walk challenge, I knew that I would have to take part. It reflects my business. I am passionate about foot care. I will be stepping out of my comfort zone quite literally. I know that for some people, the idea of someone touching their feet is a big no, no, and it is a huge step to even make an appointment. Please do not be embarrassed about your feet. I have a passion about the work I do and get great satisfaction with the results I deliver. You too can step out of your comfort zone.’

Critical care paramedics, doctors and pilots from the Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland Air Ambulance service attend an average of ten rescue missions a day. The charity receives no government funding and relies entirely on donations to raise the £1,700 it needs for each mission. Find out more.

Sponsor Caroline for her incredible challenge by calling in at The Hub during open hours, or donating via her Just Giving page.

Leave a comment